January 10, 2018

Elections & Awards

New 2018-2019 Board Members

Since there was only one candidate for each of the 2018-2019 open board positions no formal election was needed. The Greater Cleveland Council of Teachers of Mathematics thanks the following new board members for their willingness to serve:

  • President-Elect Mary Beth Hearns: Kenston High School, Kenston Local Schools
  • Secretary Nicole Gregory: Birchwood School at Hawken, Cleveland
  • East District Director Matthew Kennedy: Laurel School, Shaker Hts.
  • West District Director Erin George: Lake Ridge Academy, North Ridgeville


2018 Outstanding Mathematics Educators

  • GCCTM Lifetime Contribution to Mathematics Education Awardees:
    • Laura and Richard Little; Lakewood City Schools-Retired and Baldwin Wallace University-Retired
  • Outstanding Elementary Classroom Teachers:
    • Missy Rodia – Edison Elementary School, Willoughby Eastlake City Schools
    • Jamie Shaw – Maple Leaf Elementary, Garfield Heights City Schools
  • Outstanding Middle School Classroom Teachers:
    • Allison Klutarich – Incarnate Word Academy, Cleveland Catholic Diocese
    • Kori Krill – Kenston Middle School, Kenston Local Schools
    • Katya Melott – Learwood Middle School, Avon Lake City Schools
  • Outstanding High School Classroom Teachers:
    • Suzanne Malak – Garfield Hts. High School, Garfield City Schools
    • Angela Sanor – St. Vincent-St. Mary High School, Cleveland Catholic Diocese
  • Outstanding Mathematics Educators-Intervention Specialist:
    • Evie Petroff – Chardon Middle School, Chardon Local Schools
    • Diana Romanoff – Hilltop Elementary School, Beachwood City Schools
    • Jill Whitfield – Mentor High School, Mentor Public Schools
  • Outstanding Mathematics Educator-Instructional Coach:
    • Vivian Melendez – Rhodes College and Career Academy, Cleveland Municipal Schools
  • Outstanding Mathematics Educator-University Faculty:
    • Catherine Lane – Baldwin Wallace University